What's the recipe for a shield in minecraft?

You should see a crafting area that is made up of a 3x3 crafting grid. To make a shield, place 1 iron ingot and 6 wood planks in the 3x3 crafting grid. When crafting with wood planks, you can use any kind of wood planks, such as oak, spruce, birch, jungle, acacia, or dark oak wood planks.