What's the difference between a maid of honor and matron of honor?

The truth is, there is no difference in being the maid of honor or matron of honor. The only distinction is that a matron of honor is a married woman. A lot of brides have a maid of honor and a matron of honor, and it's usually because they can't choose just one friend to be the MOH.