Which direction should a ceiling fan spin in the winter?

Clockwise Fan Direction for Warm Winter Comfort In the winter, ceiling fans should rotate clockwise at a low speed to pull cool air up. The gentle updraft pushes warm air, which naturally rises to the ceiling, down along the walls and back the floor.