How did indiana jones get his name?

The character was originally named Indiana Smith, after an Alaskan Malamute called Indiana that Lucas owned in the 1970s and on which he based Star Wars Chewbacca. Spielberg disliked the name Smith, and Lucas suggested Jones as an alternative. The Last Crusade script references the name's origin.