What happened on september two thousand and one?

On 11 September 2001 (known as 9-11 in America), Islamist extremists hijacked 4 planes that were flying above the US. 2 of them were flown into the twin towers of the World Trade Center in New York. Another was crashed into the Pentagon, the top military building in the capital city, Washington DC.