How many whales are in the sea?

There are 16,000 fin whales in the ocean between Iceland and East Greenland and about 18,900 in the ocean between East Greenland, Iceland and Jan Mayen (North of 500 latitude). Counting shows that sei whale stock size, a species hunted by Icelanders during the last decades, is at least 10,500.