Is corn meal and corn starch the same thing?

No. Corn meal is ground corn, i.e. the same ingredient you would make corn bread from. Corn starch (ground) is the starch subtracted from the corn and is used as a thickener in sauces, pies, etc. It's naturally a bit sweet. Don't substitute one for the other.