When did pat sajak start hosting wheel of fortune?

On December 28, 1981 Pat Sajak made his debut as host of Wheel of Fortune

---

Pat Sajak started hosting Wheel of Fortune on December 28, 1981.

---

In 1981, Merv Griffin, the creator of Wheel of Fortune, asked Pat Sajak if he would be interested in hosting the show. However, Fred Silverman, head of NBC, rejected his hiring. Griffin responded by halting new tapings until Sajak was hired. We all know who won that standoff.