Was chuck yeager an astronaut?

No, Chuck Yeager is a former United States Air Force officer, flying ace and record setting test pilot. In 1947, Chuck Yeager was the first pilot in history confirmed to have exceeded the speed of sound in level flight, meaning he broke the sound barrier.