Who is maximus decimus meridians?

Maximus Decimus Meridius was a general under the Roman Emperor Marcus Aurelius in his campaign against the barbarians in Germania. He later was a gladiator after he escaped Commodus. He eventually killed Commodus, but died shortly after. Russell Crowe played him in the 2000 film Gladiator.