How do you become american?

To become a U.S. citizen, you must be: 18 years old; physically live here for 3 or 5 years; be able to read, write, and speak basic English; show good moral character; show knowledge of U.S. history and government; show loyalty to the principles of the Constitution; and take the Oath of Allegiance.