How do you ripen an avocado in the microwave?

First, cut the avocado in half and remove the pit. Wrap each half in plastic wrap and cook for 30-second intervals on medium-high. Check softness between each interval. Once cool enough to handle, unwrap halves and place them in the refrigerator for about six minutes.