What is ethyl alcohol?

Ethyl alcohol (also called ethanol) is the type of alcohol used in alcoholic drinks. It has the chemical formula C2H5OH. It's different from methyl alcohol (also called methanol), which has the formula CH3OH and is poisonous to humans.