What's the difference between marketing and advertising?

In basic terms, marketing is the process of identifying customer needs and determining how best to meet those needs. In contrast, advertising is the exercise of promoting a company and its products or services through paid channels. In other words, advertising is a component of marketing.

---

MARKETING is a broad term that refers to the overall process of identifying, anticipating, and satisfying customer needs and wants; whereas ADVERTISING is a specific activity within the marketing process, that involves creating and placing ads in various media to promote a product, service, or idea.