Where were nutcrackers invented?

Nutcracker dolls, also known as Christmas nutcrackers, are decorative nutcracker figurines most commonly made to resemble a toy soldier. In German tradition, the dolls are symbols of good luck, frightening away malevolent spirits. Nutcracker dolls originate from late-17th century Germany.

---

The carving of nutcrackers developed as a cottage industry in forested rural areas of Germany. The most famous nutcracker carvings come from Sonneberg in Thuringia and as part of the industry of wooden toymaking in the Ore Mountains.