When do pears ripen?

While a Bartlett’s skin color brightens as it ripens, most varieties of pears show little change in color. The best way to judge ripeness for non-Bartlett varieties is to Check the Neck: Apply gentle pressure to the neck of the pear with your thumb. If it yields to pressure, it’s ripe.