Who is the enemy in star wars?

Darth Vader is the main villain in Star Wars, but the actual enemy is The Galactic Empire, also known as the Old Empire, the First Galactic Empire, Palpatine's New Order, the Imperium or simply the Empire, established and governed by Supreme Chancellor Palpatine.