What's the donkey's name in shrek?

In the movie Shrek, the donkey refurs to himself as "Donkey." Shrek addresses him in this way as well. No other name is provided.

---

The Donkey in Shrek was just called “Donkey" and seemed to have no specific name. However, while watching the first Shrek film in a moviehouse I heard somebody called the Donkey with a name! He said, “That's Eddie Murphy!”

---

donkey