What is glycolic acid used for?

Glycolic acid is a chemical as opposed to a physical exfoliator. As such it can be used to help eliminate rough texture by sloughing away dead skin cells and smoothing out the top layer of skin. It is also used for textile tanning, a food preservative, in adhesives, and additive for ink and paint.