Why do dogs bury their bones?

Wild canines like wolves bury food items as a form of survival. They are putting food they don't need now in safekeeping for later. Dogs do the same thing instinctively even though they don't need to for survival.

---

Dogs bury their treats to save them for later. This is an instinct developed from when they lived in the wild and if they left the food lying on the ground, scavengers would eat it before the dog (or wolf) could come back and get it.