What are prairie oysters?

A prairie oyster is a traditional beverage consisting of a raw egg, Worcestershire sauce, vinegar or hot sauce, table salt, and ground black pepper. Tomato juice is sometimes added, to be like a Bloody Mary. The egg is broken into a glass so as not to break the yolk. The drink is quickly swallowed.