Who are the first astronauts?

Yuri Gagarin of the Soviet Union was the first person to fly into space on April 12th, 1961. His spaceship was named Vostok 1. America's Alan Shepard was the second person to fly into space on May 5th, 1961 in the capsule named Freedom 7.