Is ketchup a liquid or a solid?

Like toothpaste and paint, ketchup is a “soft solid” or “yield stress fluid” that only moves when the right amount of force is applied. The sauce is actually a suspension of pulverized tomato solids in a liquid. futurity.org

---

Ketchup is a soft solid because of its ingredients. Ketchup is made from finely ground-up tomatoes, along with sugar, spices, vinegar, and water.