When did mesopotamia exist?

The Sumerians and Akkadians (including Assyrians and Babylonians) dominated Mesopotamia from the beginning of written history ( c. 3100 BC) to the fall of Babylon in 539 BC, when it was conquered by the Achaemenid Empire.