Who is clifford the dog?

Clifford the Big Red Dog is an American children's book series about a giant red dog named Clifford. It was first published in 1963 and was written by Norman Bridwell (1928–2014). The series helped establish Scholastic as a premier publishing company, and Clifford is Scholastic's official mascot.