How long should i deep fry potatoes?

according to life hacker.com,Before frying,rinse them in cold water to remove starch,For crispier potatoes,soak the potatoes in salt water for several minutes before cooking,Place in Hot oil for 4-5 mins. a few at a time,For crisp,firm fries,fry twice