What is p.s. stand for?

According to Wikipedia, P.S. stands for postscript and is an afterthought, thought that's occurring after the letter has been written and signed. The term comes from the Latin post scriptum, meaning "written after" (which may be interpreted in the sense of "that which comes after the writing").