How do you train a horse in minecraft?

To tame the Horse, select an empty slot in your hotbar (because you must use your hand to tame). You will tame a horse by repeatedly trying to mount the horse and getting bucked off. The game control to tame the horse depends on the version of Minecraft. For Java Edition, right click on the horse.