How do you know when chicken is bad?

If you're not sure how to tell if chicken is bad, check to see if raw chicken has begun to look more grey than pink, at which point it should be discarded. If it has a sour or ammonia-like smell, or if it starts to smell bad while it's cooking, it has already gone bad.