What was the first european settlement in north america?

That title often erroneously goes to Jamestown, Virginia, the first British permanent settlement, founded in 1607. Yet by the time Jamestown was founded, the oldest city in what is now the U.S., St. Augustine, Florida, was already 42 years old.