What is a permanent in magic the gathering?

A permanent is a card or token on the battlefield. Permanents are typically at least one (and possibly more) of the following: Artifact, Creature, Enchantment, Land, Planeswalker A permanent need not necessarily be 1 of the above types. If it somehow loses all of its types, it is still a permanent.