What does zest and quarter lemon mean?

The zest is the outermost part of the rind, usually referring to lemons, limes, & oranges. You can use a tool known as a zester, or if you don't have one you can use a grater. Make sure you're only grating off the outermost layer. Once done you'll quarter it by cutting the fruit into 4 equal pieces.