What is navy strength rum?

“Navy strength” is a relatively new term. It was coined by the branding consultant John Murphy on behalf of Plymouth Gin in 1993 for something very old — what used to be called 100º UK proof spirit. It refers to a spirit that is bottled at exactly 57% alcohol by volume.