What is the difference between a bolt and a screw?

The difference between a bolt and a screw is that screws always have threads on most of the shaft, and often can affix themselves into an object without other pieces. Bolts may or may not have full threads, and must have a matching Nut on the other end to secure them in place.

---

A bolt is a non-tapered fastener that uses a washer and nut to hold objects together. A screw is a tapered fastener that mates with an existing thread or creates its own thread in a material as it turns.