Can people get fleas?

Yes. Fleas are external parasites attracted to any warm-blooded animal, humans included. Fleas don't live on their food source - they hop on, grab a bite and hop off. Flea bites are red itchy bumps usually found on the feet, ankles and calves of people. Carpets provide a good hiding place for fleas.