What does parchment paper do?

Lining a pan with parchment paper not only protects the pan but also the food, whether you're roasting vegetables or baking cookies, biscuits and more. It can act as a layer of insulation between the pan and the food, to keep it from burning or sticking and to ensure even cooking.