What is the meaning of eggplant?

Websters Dictionary defines eggplant as 1) a: widely cultivated perennial Asian herb (Solanum melongena) of the nightshade family yielding edible fruit b: the usually smooth ovoid typically blackish-purple or white fruit of the eggplant 2: a dark grayish or blackish purple