What's a madrugal?

The 14th-century madrigal is based on a relatively constant poetic form of 2 or 3 stanzas of three lines each, with 7 or 11 syllables per line. Musically, it is most often set polyphonically (i.e., more than one voice part) in two parts, with the musical form reflecting the structure of the poem.