How do whales sleep?

In general, whales have two basic ways of sleeping, according to Scientific American. They “rest quietly in the water, vertically or horizontally, or sleep while swimming slowly next to another animal.” Sperm whales, for instance, have been photographed floating vertically with their tails down.