How long do you cook tomatoes while making salsa?

In a six-quart pot of boiling water, blanch tomatoes, drain & cool under cold water. Peel and coarsely chop. Return chopped tomatoes to pot, bring to boil & reduce heat. Skim juice from top of tomatoes and reserve, if you'd like, for another use. Do not overcook and allow tomatoes to remain chunky.