What was the deadliest day in american history?

The single bloodiest day in American history was Sept. 17, 1862: the date of the Battle of Antietam, near Sharpsburg, Maryland. Troops with Union General George McClellan and Confederate General Robert E. Lee met in a pitched battle that ended with more than 23,000 soldiers killed or wounded.