What is the super soldier serum?

In Marvel comics, the Super Soldier Serum is a drug developed to enhance the human body's physical and mental function. It is the source of Captain America's superhuman abilities.

---

The serum was formulated to enhance the human body and mind, and was intended to be utilized by the United States Armed Forces during World War II in order to transform Allied soldiers into super soldiers.