Which direction should a fan spin?

A ceiling fan should rotate counterclockwise in the summer so that the blades push cooler air down in a column.

---

A ceiling fan should spin counter-clockwise to push air toward the floor and clockwise to pull air up away from the floor. Usually it should spin counter-clockwise during the hotter seasons and clockwise during the cold season.