What's a lychee?

A Chinese fruit, a little bigger than a strawberry, has red bumpy outer skin with firm, juicy flesh and a sweet flavor. It is used peeled and served raw in fruit & green salads or boiled with sugar and water to create a simple syrup for cocktails, sweet summer tea, ice cream or sorbet.