What's a patriot bond?

A Patriot Bond is a physical (paper) Series EE savings bond inscribed with the term “Patriot Bond” and purchased at a financial institution. ... Series EE savings bonds are guaranteed by the U.S. government to be worth their face value when they have been held for 20 years.