Why does it rain diamonds on jupiter and saturn?

Atmospheric data indicates that carbon is abundant in its dazzling crystal form. Lightning storms turn methane into soot which hardens into chunks by the high pressures and compress to the form of graphite and then diamond as it falls to the planet surface.