Why do cakes fall?

Cakes usually fall for a few reasons. Overmixing the batter may release all the bubbles from the mix. The bubbles make the cake rise as they expand in the heat and the batter firms. Or vibrations and loss of heat from opening the oven door will cause the bubbles to escape before the cake firms up.