Who is the demogorgon in stranger things?

Mark Steger played the demogorgon, this was the first monster that fans were introduced to in Stranger Things. The tall, plant-like monster was known to be from the Upside Down, an alternative universe that can be accessed through special portals, and hungry for almost anything that came around it.