How many balls are in a pool table?

In a standard game of 8 ball, there are a total of 16 balls on the table. 7 solids, 7 stripes, the 8 ball and the cue ball. In 9 ball there are a total of 10 balls on the table - the 1 through 9 object balls and the cue ball.