What does p. s. mean?

P.S. is an abbreviation for the word "postscript". The word postscript comes from Latin words that mean "after the writing," so a postscript is literally something added on after the main writing.

---

On a letter, p.s. (postscript or in Latin post scriptum) indicates words appearing after the main section of the writing and the signature. It may also refer to any afterthought.